2009 Season Wrap-Up

Trailblazers 2009 AAU National Jr Olympic Games Summary.


Coach Sancho (as are the other coaches) is very proud of the athletes' performance at the 2009 AAU National Jr. Olympic Games held in Des Moines, Iowa the entire first week of August at the infamous Drake University track facility. There was outstanding competition and the Tallahassee Trailblazers’ Track Club held its own. The athletes' represented the State of Florida quite well bringing home 1 gold medal; two 3rd place medals; two 4th place medals, and three 6th place medals - representing in the top eight (8) athletes in the nation. [1st - 8th place medalled].

Trevor Solomon: 1st place - 200m Dash (Primary Boys Division)
3rd place – 100m Dash
Javan Morgan: 3rd place - Long Jump (Sub Bantam Boys Division)
Brittany Corbett: 4th place - 100m Hurdles (Sub Youth Girls Division)
Brittany Jones: 4th place - 400m Hurdles (Young Women Division)
Kendall Randolph: 6th place - High Jump (Sub Youth Boys Division)
Helena Higgins: 6th place - 3000m Race Walk (Youth Girls Division)
Jabriel Giddins: 6th place - 800m Run (Young Men Division)

The Trailblazers' Primary Girls Division [Jacquell Lewis, Auryndette West, Jayla Randolph, Nikera Gibbs] made it to the finals in the 4x100m Relay out of "33" teams which is a major accomplishment. Although they were disqualified due to an exchange zone violation, they did make it to the final eight teams in the nation.

Other Trailblazers' made it in the top "10" (ten) status of athletes in the nation: Brittany Corbett - 9th place High Jump / 10th place 200m Hurdles; Bernicia Holifield-Brown - 10th place Shot Put (Youth Girls Division); Jabriel Giddins - 10th place 400m Dash.

2009 Tallahassee Trailblazers AAU National Jr Olympic Qualifiers
Adnaudta Hubbard, Adrian Foushee, Auryndette West, Bernicia Holifield-Brown, Billy Mueller, Brittany Corbett, Brittany Jones, Bryan Williams, Darryl Jarmon, Destiny Huggins, D’Shay Pressley, Eric Flemings, Haley Austin, Helena Higgins, Israel Chipman, Jabriel Giddins, Jacquell Lewis, Jacari Randolph, Jamilah Smith, Javan Morgan, Jayla Randolph, Jevon Price, Kendall Randolph, Khadijah Walker, Kierra Mathis, Kiya Gibbs, Malik Garye, Miles Wallace, Montavius Williams, Nikera Gibbs, Quayshun Smith, Tabias Thomas, Tamani Wilson, Trevor Solomon, Tyler Jones & Vincent Johnson.

Next year – Hampton Roads, Virginia!